Board of Directors

Kenneth Williams 
BEc (Hons), MAppFin, MAICD

Independent Non-executive Director, Chairman 

Kenneth Williams has over 20 years' operational experience in corporate finance with an emphasis on treasury and financial risk management as well as diverse experience in mergers, acquisitions, divestments and corporate reconstructions. During his executive career he has worked for significant Australian enterprises including Renison Goldfields, Qantas, Normandy Mining and Newmont Australia.

Ken has an Honours degree in Economics and a Masters of Applied Finance and is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Ken is non-executive Chairman of Havilah Resources NL. 

Ken was appointed as a non-executive director of AWE on 26 August 2009 and non-executive Chairman on 24 November 2017.

David Biggs

Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director

David Biggs was appointed Managing Director and CEO of AWE Limited on 2 May 2016. David’s 35-year career in the upstream oil and gas sector includes senior executive roles at Cue Energy, BHP Billiton Petroleum, the Natural Gas Corporation and the Petroleum Corporation of New Zealand. He has extensive experience in leadership, strategy and planning, business improvement, P&L management and commercial transactions, particularly M&A and gas marketing, gained in Australia, New Zealand, Indonesia, the USA and other international markets. David holds a tertiary qualification in law from Victoria University in Wellington.


David McEvoy
BSc (Physics), Grad Dip (Geophysics)

Independent Non-executive Director 

David McEvoy has a petroleum geoscience background with almost 40 years’ experience in international exploration and development. He has held several senior executive positions in affiliates of ExxonMobil, most recently Vice President, Business Development in ExxonMobil Exploration Company from 1997 to 2002.

Dave is currently a non-executive director of Woodside Petroleum Ltd and Seven Group Holdings Limited. He was formerly a non-executive director of Po Valley Energy Limited and ACER Energy Limited (formerly Innamincka Petroleum Ltd).

Dave was appointed a non-executive director of AWE on 22 June 2006.

Ray Betros
BEng Chemical, Grad Dip Process Plant Engineering

Independent Non-executive Director

Ray Betros has over 35 years’ experience in international business, project development and technical management. He has held senior positions in resource companies and worked extensively internationally including Indonesia, United Kingdom and Egypt.
Ray has held various senior executive positions at BHP/BHP Billiton (1993-2004), BG Group (2004-2008) and most recently Santos (2008-2011) where he held the position of Executive Vice-President Technical until his retirement from executive duties.
Ray was appointed as a non-executive director of AWE on 22 November 2012.

Karen Penrose

Independent Non-executive Director

Karen Penrose has a strong background and experience in the finance and corporate sectors. She is a full-time nonexecutive director. Her prior executive career includes 20 years with Commonwealth Bank and HSBC and eight years as a Chief Financial Officer and Chief Operating Officer with two ASX listed companies.
Karen is a non-executive director of Bank of Queensland Limited, Vicinity Centres Limited, Spark Infrastructure Group and a pro-bono board member of Future Generation Global Investment Company Limited. She is also a director UrbanGrowth NSW. Ms Penrose was formerly Deputy Chairman of Silver Chef Limited (to February 2015) and Novion Limited.

Karen was appointed a non-executive director of AWE on 28 August 2013.

Andrew Rigg
BSc (Hons) Geol, MAICD

Independent Non-executive Director

Andy is an experienced earth scientist with extensive executive and management experience in the Australian petroleum exploration and production industry working with a variety of domestic and international companies including Esso, Santos and Ampolex.

Andy was previously Chairman of Hydra Energy Pty Limited, a non-executive director of Norwest Energy NL, Anzon Australia Limited, MEO Australia Limited and Mosaic Oil NL and former managing director of Maple Oil NL and Elk Petroleum Limited.

Andy has also worked as Program Manager and Deputy CEO for the Australian Petroleum Cooperative Research Centre and special advisor to the Australian Coal Association on geological storage of carbon dioxide.

Andy was appointed a non-executive director of AWE on 12 October 2017.



Investor Centre +

Listed on the Australian Securities Exchange (ASX), AWE has reshaped itself to operate in a low oil price environment with a near-term focus on domestic gas production.

Find out more +